World Photography Forum

World Photography Forum (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/index.php)
-   Cameras (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Battle of the super zoom bridge?? (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/showthread.php?t=4765)

merlecollins 18-07-09 09:51

Battle of the super zoom bridge??

As I have stated in my 'Say Hello' thread, I am brand new to the forum and photography :)

I have been perusing the reviews of a few bridge cameras, i.e. :

Sony H50
Nikon P80
Fuji S2000HD

I need an everday use camera, with decent zoom (wildlife shots,etc.) and good internal photo quality (for my work portfolio, I'm a tiler by trade:))

Does anyone have any suggestions as I can't seem to see the wood for the trees at the moment:(

Gidders 18-07-09 10:03

You don't say what your budget is but have a look at Dave's picks at Imaging Resource

merlecollins 18-07-09 10:05

up to £250.:o

postcardcv 18-07-09 11:07

you might find this review/comparison useful - http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/Q109superzoomgroup/

merlecollins 18-07-09 11:19

Thanks postcardcv - very helpful :)

I hadn't considered a Panasonic, but it gets a good write up on that site :)

Birdsnapper 18-07-09 14:36

My wife uses the FZ8 (not quite such a long zoom - 'only' 12x) and has great results, from dragonflies to birds. It's a good all-rounder.

graham harcombe 19-07-09 04:30

I use a Panasonic FZ30, a bit 'old' tech. now (bought in 2005) but it has done very good service and I am happy with it as long as I accept one or two limitations. A few points that I hope are relevant:

a. It is nicely and strongly assembled; has a positive feel to it.
b. It's good to have a versatile lens fitted all the time.
c. The quality of sharpness, colour reproduction etc. is fine in good light.
d. The light is the main limiting factor, any loss of light and my shots
are dull and grainy.
e. Look out for the available speeds on the camera, mine is a relatively slow