World Photography Forum

World Photography Forum (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/index.php)
-   Flash Photography Technique (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   High speed sync flash (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/showthread.php?t=7573)

1hdr4u 30-08-13 02:31

High speed sync flash

I'm new to using flash for shots but I was trying to take high speed shots and use my flash but was limited to 1/250 when I popped up my onboard flash on my Canon 60d. I did some research and found out that I need an outboard flash for the hot shoe that can high speed sync because I want to take some indoor shots at 1/2000 or faster. I read but I'm unsure what kind of flash unit I need that will speed sync with my Canon. I have been looking at the Sunpak PF30X/DigiFlash 2800 E-TTL, but their description doesn't say whether it has high speed sync feature. If a flash unit says it's E-TTL capable does that mean that it can high speed sync? Does the Sunpak PF30X/DigiFlash 2800 E-TTL have high speed sync and if not can anyone give me a list of flash units that have HSS capability that will work with my Canon 60d? Thanks for any help.

1hdr4u.

Gidders 30-08-13 16:51

Why do you want to use such a high shutter speed - the duration of the flash will be fast enough to stop most movements. I'm not sure what the duration of the on-board flash is (you may be able to google it) but it will get faster as the power is reduced. With my Canon 580Ex the slowest flash duration is 1/1000 & it goes up to 1/35000 at 1/128 power - see this link Canon-580ex-flash-duration

1hdr4u 31-08-13 03:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gidders (Post 54197)