World Photography Forum

World Photography Forum (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/index.php)
-   Lenses (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   teleconverters ? (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/showthread.php?t=5586)

mark g 21-03-10 18:36

teleconverters ?

hi all im new here and new to proper photography
i have a canon 350d eos with a tamron 70-300mm lens. id like to get something bigger but cant afford it, i heard about teleconverters apparently multiplying the zoom, if this is right can anyon tell me which one to get for my camera lens combo ? please bare in mind im a total newbie at this

thanks in advance mark

miketoll 21-03-10 19:08

Several points here.
1) Teleconverters multiply the focal length of the main lens but always degrade the image to varying degrees. The more the multiplication the more degradation, do not be tempted by anything stronger than a 1.4 converter for this reason or you will be disappointed.
2) They work best with prime lenses but a 1.4 should be OK with your zoom but there will be some loss of quality.
3) You always lose light with a converter, with a 1.4 converter you will lose 1 stop of light so your zoom will change from a f5.6 to a f8 lens.
4) With your 350D camera this means you will lose autofocus.
This is because any Canon DSLR apart from the professional 1 series will only focus with a lens of f5.6 or faster..
5) Some converters are 'none reporting' which means they do not inform the camera about the change of aperture but even so autofocus would be slow and erratic. Some people mask some of the pins on the converter to make them 'none reporting' but with mixed success.