World Photography Forum

World Photography Forum (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/index.php)
-   Cameras (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Think I want a Nikon d5000 (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/showthread.php?t=5608)

Matt Green 29-03-10 22:56

Think I want a Nikon d5000

OK, so the situation is I only posses (actually my mothers!) a meague kodak compact and occasionally have use of a Panasonic Lumix bridge camera and lately I've been hankering after a proper camera ....been doing a bit of research and the above Nikon looks a pretty safe bet, I can afford it but just wondering how much use I'd be able to get from it considering I've never used a DSLR before. I know about the basics of exposure etc but not having used a DSLR I'm thinking perhaps I should stick with a cheap bridge camera while I bone up on the more technical stuff?

I assume I could always use the full auto mode or auto/scene modes while getting to grips with manual/custom settings...would pictures taken on auto modes be greatly inferior to those taken in custom settings?

Matt

postcardcv 29-03-10 23:30

I think that if you are planning on getting a DSLR then do so as soon as you can, you will see a real difference in IQ compared to your bridge camera especially in poor light. The auto modes will work well I am sure, and I am confident that you would get to grips with the settings quite quickly.

yelvertoft 30-03-10 08:25

Agree completely with Peter, go for it, you won't regret it.

Peter Waites 30-03-10 09:17