WPF - World Photography Forum
Home Gallery Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome to World Photography Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to World Photography Forum, a dedicated community for photographers and enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   World Photography Forum > Photography Equipment > Lenses

Lenses Discussion of Lenses

Teleconverter Question

Old 04-10-09, 12:40

Default Teleconverter Question

Hi All

I am fairly new to using a dslr and have got a sony alpha 200 with the standard sony 18 to 70 mm lens as well as a sigma 70 - 300 mm lens and was looking at getting a sigma 2.0x Teleconvertor.

Is there any disadvantages to using one in terms of loss of picture quality and will it also work with the sony brand lense.

thanks in advance.

Andrew
Old 04-10-09, 14:44

Don't know about Sony cameras or the Sigma 70-300 lens Andrew but in general 2x tc's degrade the image quality a lot. It is only on the very best quality prime lenses that you can get away with a 2x tc (300 f2.8, 500 f4, 600 f4 etc.)
A 1.4 tc would be a better bet but even then I would not like to say how good it would be with your 70-300 (I know on the Canon 70-300 any tc is poor and you lose AF).

Hopefully someone with the same combo as you can give you some advise but until then I would be very weary about spending any cash on a tc - just my 2p worth.

MY WEB SITE
MY PHOTOSTREAM
Old 04-10-09, 14:55