WPF - World Photography Forum
Home Gallery Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Welcome to World Photography Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to World Photography Forum, a dedicated community for photographers and enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   World Photography Forum > Photography Equipment > Cameras

Cameras Discussion on Cameras of all types

Nikon D40 question

Old 27-01-09, 16:49

Default Nikon D40 question

Hello folks This is my first post in here, so please be patent with me.

I'm pretty new to digital photography and have recently purchased a Nikon 40 with the standard lens, also a Nikon 55mm X 200 zoom, and finally a Nikon ML-L3 wireless remote.

My question relates to the remote. I am aware that to get the remote to work you need to go into the shooting mode and select either delayed or quick response remote, the problem is the camera only seems to hold one of these two selection for a maximum of around 1 minute, after which the camera seems to forget that I have made the remote selection, and the remote no longer works with out re-selection back in shooting mode. If I take a photo within every minute it will let take pics continuously.

I've been reading an article by Ken Rockwell that suggests you can set the camera up in such a way, that it will retain the remote settings for up to a maximum of 15 minutes after which the camera needs triggering or it reverts to what I assume must be a default setting in which the camera shooting mode needs setting up again. I've been through (I think all the options) but can find nothing about retaining the remote mode for 15 minutes. Any help on this would be much appreciated.