WPF - World Photography Forum
Home Gallery Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Welcome to World Photography Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to World Photography Forum, a dedicated community for photographers and enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   World Photography Forum > Photography Equipment > Lenses

Lenses Discussion of Lenses

teleconverters ?

Old 21-03-10, 18:36

Default teleconverters ?

hi all im new here and new to proper photography
i have a canon 350d eos with a tamron 70-300mm lens. id like to get something bigger but cant afford it, i heard about teleconverters apparently multiplying the zoom, if this is right can anyon tell me which one to get for my camera lens combo ? please bare in mind im a total newbie at this

thanks in advance mark
Old 21-03-10, 19:08

Several points here.
1) Teleconverters multiply the focal length of the main lens but always degrade the image to varying degrees. The more the multiplication the more degradation, do not be tempted by anything stronger than a 1.4 converter for this reason or you will be disappointed.
2) They work best with prime lenses but a 1.4 should be OK with your zoom but there will be some loss of quality.
3) You always lose light with a converter, with a 1.4 converter you will lose 1 stop of light so your zoom will change from a f5.6 to a f8 lens.
4) With your 350D camera this means you will lose autofocus.
This is because any Canon DSLR apart from the professional 1 series will only focus with a lens of f5.6 or faster..