World Photography Forum

World Photography Forum (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/index.php)
-   The Photography Forum (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Problem (https://www.worldphotographyforum.com/showthread.php?t=3338)

Alan.P 21-04-08 18:40

Problem

1 Attachment(s)
I'd like a bit of help please as I am new to photography and if you look at my photo below you can see what I mean. The light looks wrong at the top right of the photo, I don't get this on all photos so can anyone advise me how to correct the problem. Please don't get too technical.

Don Hoey 21-04-08 20:28

Alan,

Can you remember where the sun was relative to your camera position when you took this. There is the possibility that it is ......... technical term here ' flare '. If the sun is oblique onto the lens it would produce an similar effect.

Don

miketoll 21-04-08 20:58

Looks like flare to me in which case shield the lens surface with a lens hood or even with a hand (out of shot) to prevent the oblique rays hitting the lens surface.

Susan Green 21-04-08 22:19

Use Metering lock. Or change metering mode on your camera (if posssible). Or Meter from the area which you want to have correctly, then recompose (reframe) your image holding the shutter button half way. This option most cameras (even point and shoot ) have. Another method is bracketing or last resort: everything can be fixed in Photoshop.

Susan

robski 21-04-08 22:51

I'd go for lens flare also. I assume your avatar is the camera your using. Not sure if you can get lens hood for this type of camera but shielding with your hand is the next best thing.

miketoll 22-04-08 16:07

If it is flare which I think it is then Susan's advice will not help I am afraid. That advice is for helping with an exposure problem whereas you have a local loss of contrast and none image forming light spoiling the shot ie flare.

Alan.P 22-04-08 18:45