WPF - World Photography Forum
Home Gallery Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Welcome to World Photography Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to World Photography Forum, a dedicated community for photographers and enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   World Photography Forum > Photography Equipment > Lenses

Lenses Discussion of Lenses

What kind of filter?

Old 25-07-07, 18:26

Default What kind of filter?

Hi All
I'm new to DSLR and have recently purchased
an EOS 400d and 100-400L lens
I gather I need some sort of filter to protect
the lens but have no idea what to buy
Any ideas or advice on which make and type would be
greatly appreciated
Thanks
Tony
Old 25-07-07, 22:22

A UV filter is ideal for protecting lens - will give some image improvement and you won't loose light.
Old 26-07-07, 08:59

As Mike suggests a UV filter will have very little effect on your photography if anything it may slightly warm the image. UV filters are used as lens protectors because of their negligible effect. Perhaps DSLR's auto white balance will negate any colour change if TTL sampling is employed. I use these filters on most of my lenses and its worth it, during a car journey with kit in a heavily loaded boot the lens cap off one of my lenses became detached and scratched all the filter. If no filter was used then these scratches would have been on the front lens element - totally ruining it.
Old 26-07-07, 10:48

Tony,