WPF - World Photography Forum
Home Gallery Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Welcome to World Photography Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to World Photography Forum, a dedicated community for photographers and enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   World Photography Forum > Photography Equipment > Cameras

Cameras Discussion on Cameras of all types

1D or not to 1D

Old 19-10-09, 12:32

Default 1D or not to 1D

Hi guys i hope ive got this in the right section? but i need some advice from your good selves

I am a semi-professional motorsports photographer using a Canon 30D.
For years i have been told to get a 1D, but i have resisted the urge to spend a lot of money on one! (not a tough decision in todays climate) but.......
what is the big difference? is it really in my best interests to get one?
I feel like my images with my 30D are pin sharp enough so whats the difference with a 1D?
I dont need the 8.5fps as i only take one shot unless its a crash sequence (which im usually looking the wrong way for!)
Help!!!
Do i get a 1D? get my trusty 30D serviced? or flog the lot and get a Nikon D300?? aarrggghhh decisions!
I thank you for listening to me rant
Old 19-10-09, 13:22
Super Moderator

Not an easy choice... the 1D series cameras have a much better AF system than the xxD ones (45 point vs 9 point), the AF is faster and more reliable. Other than that you probably wouldn't see a huge improvement, though I imagine that for motorsport faster AF would be a bonus. Other good features are weather sealing, centre point AF at f8, amazing build quality, dual card slots (CF and SD).