WPF - World Photography Forum
Home Gallery Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts

Welcome to World Photography Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to World Photography Forum, a dedicated community for photographers and enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.

Go Back   World Photography Forum > General Photography > The Photography Forum

The Photography Forum General Photography Related Discussion.

My 28-70L

Old 28-09-11, 11:12

Default My 28-70L

Hi folks,

I have just aquired my first L lens (a second hand 28-70) and would be grateful of some feedback on what people's thoughts are on the IQ. Is it similar to what I could expect from a good 24-70?

Viewing in PS @ 100% they look pretty good to me but I have no experience of L lenses.

I have attached three pics of some different subjects. One is my adorable 5 month old niece

Thanks all for taking the time to assist.
Paul
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1186rawprocessed.jpg (232.7 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1183rawprocessed.jpg (242.6 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1167rawprocessed.jpg (263.2 KB, 10 views)
Old 28-09-11, 14:14
Super Moderator

I've got this lens and it is outstanding - pin sharp even at f2.8, fast acurate AF and real winner. I have compared it to the 24-70 f2.8 on a number of occassions and can see no advantage in changing to the newer lens (I don't feel the need for the extra 4mm at the wide end). I'm sure you'll have a lot of dun using this lens (but be warned L lensed can be addictive)!
Old 29-09-11, 01:09
Super Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by postcardcv View Post
...but be warned L lenses can be addictive!