WPF - World Photography Forum
Home Gallery Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome to World Photography Forum!
Welcome!

Thank you for finding your way to World Photography Forum, a dedicated community for photographers and enthusiasts. There's a variety of forums, a wonderful gallery, and what's more, we are absolutely FREE. You are very welcome to join, take part in the discussion, and post your pictures!

Click here to go to the forums home page and find out more.
Click here to join.


Go Back   World Photography Forum > Photography Technique > The Digital Darkroom


The Digital Darkroom The In-Computer editing forum.

CS Help needed

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 19-05-07, 10:17
Saphire's Avatar
Saphire Saphire is offline  
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Shropshire
Age: 73
Posts: 5,976
Default

Sassan
This is like trying to work out a who-dunnit.

I have tried everything you suggested still no go. I still just get a small dot for a curser not the usual text line.
__________________
Christine Iwancz
Gallery upload limit is 4 photos per 24hrs Gallery Posting Guidelines here
http://ciphotography.freehostia.com/index.php
Equipment= Canon 7D, 40D, 400 f5.6, 75-300, 100mm Macro, 18-55, Canon 70-200 f4, Tokina 12-24mm, Kenko pro 300 1.4,1.5 and 2.0x, Jessops ext tube set,
Canon 580 flash. Home made ring flash. . Close-lens.


Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19-05-07, 10:34
Saphire's Avatar
Saphire Saphire is offline  
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Shropshire
Age: 73
Posts: 5,976
Default

Sassan, I have done another reset to defaults and things are back working again but still have no idea what went wrong. I have been trying to reproduce it but that seems just as big a mystery as when it wasn't working.
__________________
Christine Iwancz
Gallery upload limit is 4 photos per 24hrs Gallery Posting Guidelines here
http://ciphotography.freehostia.com/index.php
Equipment= Canon 7D, 40D, 400 f5.6, 75-300, 100mm Macro, 18-55, Canon 70-200 f4, Tokina 12-24mm, Kenko pro 300 1.4,1.5 and 2.0x, Jessops ext tube set,
Canon 580 flash. Home made ring flash. . Close-lens.


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19-05-07, 11:24
sassan's Avatar
sassan sassan is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 15,824
Default

Sorry I must admit to being a bit mean, my bad. I knew it will work with a restore to prior setting or likewise (And was saving it for last suggestion), as I was hopeful to find what went wrong first...
Well you did it fine so have fun with the working version and stay out of trouble.
__________________
S a s s a n .

------------------------------

"No one is going to take our democracy away from us. Not now, not ever.
" JOE BIDEN

Last edited by sassan; 19-05-07 at 11:26.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 19-05-07, 11:37
Saphire's Avatar
Saphire Saphire is offline  
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Shropshire
Age: 73
Posts: 5,976
Default

Thanks sassan I have sussed it, somehow it had changed to point text and not paragraph text in the text layer sub-menu.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20070519_114117.jpg (57.3 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Christine Iwancz
Gallery upload limit is 4 photos per 24hrs Gallery Posting Guidelines here
http://ciphotography.freehostia.com/index.php
Equipment= Canon 7D, 40D, 400 f5.6, 75-300, 100mm Macro, 18-55, Canon 70-200 f4, Tokina 12-24mm, Kenko pro 300 1.4,1.5 and 2.0x, Jessops ext tube set,
Canon 580 flash. Home made ring flash. . Close-lens.


Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19-05-07, 22:37
birsay birsay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Posts: 74
Default

I've found that if I've been using CS2 for some stretch (maybe >3 hours) in intense editing, the icons on the cursors disappear leaving only the cross-hairs as you describe above! The only resolution is to reboot the PC.

Time for a Mac, I think
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 19-05-07, 22:59
Saphire's Avatar
Saphire Saphire is offline  
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Shropshire
Age: 73
Posts: 5,976
Default

Thanks Doug. I tried rebooting and that didn't work, I think I must have changed from paragraph text to the point text by mistake. When I changed it to the point text after doing yet another default reset it did the same, only this time I managed to get it back. One day I may go the Mac route.
__________________
Christine Iwancz
Gallery upload limit is 4 photos per 24hrs Gallery Posting Guidelines here
http://ciphotography.freehostia.com/index.php
Equipment= Canon 7D, 40D, 400 f5.6, 75-300, 100mm Macro, 18-55, Canon 70-200 f4, Tokina 12-24mm, Kenko pro 300 1.4,1.5 and 2.0x, Jessops ext tube set,
Canon 580 flash. Home made ring flash. . Close-lens.


Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 24-05-07, 12:48
mcliu mcliu is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: INDIA
Posts: 470
Default

Well If you wish to reset the PS to Factory default, The Best trick is Press Alt+Crt+Shift at the start of the program.It goes to default mode .Check out again.
Next it is a bit stupidity to me to suggeat that have you selected the mask mode of the Text(just in case, it is a "dotted T"),because that is the one time you wont see the text layer until and unless you cpoy and paste and give some bevellin g
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 24-05-07, 12:53
mcliu mcliu is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: INDIA
Posts: 470
Default

sorry I haven't read your last posting,it seems that the problem is resolved .Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 24-05-07, 15:55
sassan's Avatar
sassan sassan is offline  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 15,824
Default

If Chris not hearing this;
NO NO, NO MAC.
At least not for photoshop as everybody agrees that Photoshop runs slower under Mac platform. So if you want to switch (That you really should not due to soon to follow regret) find another reason for switch, something like "What is happening with that other 2 percent of population"...
__________________
S a s s a n .

------------------------------

"No one is going to take our democracy away from us. Not now, not ever.
" JOE BIDEN
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 24-05-07, 16:04
Saphire's Avatar
Saphire Saphire is offline  
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Shropshire
Age: 73
Posts: 5,976
Default

Sassan, I was told years ago that the Mac was the one and only perfect graphics machine. The more I read now, I have a deferent view, their seems to be less and less programs that work with mac now and its not as fast a it is made out to be. I think I will stay with Windows for the foreseeable future.
__________________
Christine Iwancz
Gallery upload limit is 4 photos per 24hrs Gallery Posting Guidelines here
http://ciphotography.freehostia.com/index.php
Equipment= Canon 7D, 40D, 400 f5.6, 75-300, 100mm Macro, 18-55, Canon 70-200 f4, Tokina 12-24mm, Kenko pro 300 1.4,1.5 and 2.0x, Jessops ext tube set,
Canon 580 flash. Home made ring flash. . Close-lens.


Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.